Not on the list: Work and laundry

There is something about Fall that brings out my inner Martha Stewart. Unfortunately, between working full-time, commuting an hour each way and taking care of an 8 month old, it’s a miracle my house hasn’t been picked for Hoarders and my family actually gets recognizable food. But if I had the time I wish I could:

Clean: Like big time. I have never been a compulsively clean or neat person but there is something about not having time to clean that makes me crave it. Not even just the finished product (though if that’s all I can get, I’ll take it) but the act of cleaning. Who have I become? My kitchen floor is so absolutely disgusting that I won’t let my baby crawl on it, but in my all or nothing world, there is no point in cleaning it in any other way that hands and knees scrubbing. Who has time for that. I want my house to smell good. I don’t think it stinks (except for where the cat peed on the stairs) but it doesn’t smell good no matter how many truckloads of Febreeze I buy.

Yes, I would have someone come to clean it for me but I don’t have time to clean it up first.

Cook: Dinner at my house is usually some Foreman grilled meat and steamed veggies. Because it’s quick. And easy. And my husband can do it. Since I only see my baby in the evenings from 5:00-6:30, I refuse to spend that precious time cooking for other people. I would like to though. I dream of making big pots of soup, warm, welcoming smells in my kitchen and working my way through the entire Pioneer Woman collection. I do cook on the weekends but it’s not enough.

Craft: I crave this. Ignore the fact that I have never so much as scrapped a single photo. In my mind if I had this handy little machine I could make all kinds of artsy, fartsy things. I would make my own Christmas cards (even though I have a hard time even sending out store bought cards) and invitations and decorations and t-shirts and well all sorts of things. Or it can sit in a corner gathering dust like so many other things I just had to have (sewing machine, balance board, etc.) When I was single, I would have just gone out and bought it. Now I’m married and I have to justify shit like this. Some days I miss being single.

Run: I posted here about running. I have gone a couple of times but I just don’t have the commitment or urgency that I once had. I used to run even when I didn’t feel like, because I felt an obligation to it. I HAD to go running. It was just what I did. Now anything and everything seems more important.

Read: About 10 years ago, I didn’t have a car and I took public transportation to work everyday. I trained myself to be able to read while in a moving vehicle. It was hard and sometimes I still got a little nauseous but I managed to read 64 books in one year. It was Awesome. I’ve never come close to that number again but I would like to be able to raise my number above 4, which is the current total for this year. On my current want to read list:

  • The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  • The Girl With the “whatever” series by Stieg Larrson
  • Carpe Diem by Julie Kenner (with a thanks to this post at Rants From MommyLand for alerting me to the existance of this book.)
  • Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich

Look I know most of these aren’t deep and thoughtful but I like to read fluff . Sue me.

So when I win the lottery and don’t have to spend the bulk of my day with that annoying work thing, this is what I ‘ll be doing. OK, I’ll probably pay someone to do the cleaning.

Leave a Reply

